Norwegian University of Science and Technology

General description of the institution

The Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) is the largest university in Norway (approximately 40,000 students, more than 7,000 employees). Two thirds (4,794) employees work with teaching, research, and dissemination (academic positions), of which 40 % are women and more than 20 % are international. NTNU has a main profile in science and technology, a variety of programmes of professional study, and great academic breadth that also includes the humanities, social sciences, economics, medicine, health sciences, educational science, architecture, entrepreneurship, art disciplines and artistic activities. The university is organised in a total of 9 faculties. In addition, 4 main strategic areas have been identified across disciplines – and one of these is “NTNU Energy”. Within NTNU Energy, various cross-disciplinary groups are active, such as the recently established (autumn 2019) “Team Battery”.

Within the Faculty of Natural Science and Engineering, the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (IMA) conducts research in the areas of physical and process metallurgy, corrosion, electrochemical energy technology, inorganic materials, ceramics, and nano-structured materials. The department has extensive laboratory infrastructures relevant for all these areas and is the main institution for education of candidates on MSc and PhD level within materials science and technology in Norway, including an international MSc program for materials science. Scientific staff members of the department actively participate and manage several national and international research projects (H2020) in the above-mentioned areas. A majority of these are conducted in close collaboration with industry.

  • Development of 1D models for electrochemical performance of electrodes and cell
  • Contribute to 3D modelling of the all-liquid cell
  • Contribute to the development of the battery management system
Key Persons

Prof. Dr. Kristian Etienne Einarsrud leads WP4 on cell modelling and neutron imaging. Expertise in mathematical modelling and reactive multiphase flow.

Prof. Dr. Ann Mari Svensson is a member of the steering committee. Expert on electrochemical systems, fuel cells and batteries.

Dr. Omar Godinez is a Postdoctoral researcher in WP4. Expertise in numerical simulations and flow in porous media.